sareini: default (Battle Royale)

Lament Configuration Redux

The Adventures of a Gimpy, Socially Aware, B-Movie Fangirl and Gamer

Free Account

Created on 2009-09-22 18:06:10 (#447861), last updated 2017-09-14 (83 weeks ago)

2,051 comments received, 41 comments posted

2,320 Journal Entries, 226 Tags, 0 Memories, 60 Icons Uploaded

View extended profile

Birthdate:Oct 26, 1979
Location:United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
The basics: I'm 37, female (mostly), British, widowed and mentally ill.

I've studied film and creative writing at university (along with a bit of law and psychology) and so a lot of what I talk about can reference these things. I love horror movies, horror TV, horror fiction, creepypastas and all things connected to them. I review horror movies on another blog which I sometimes link to, but I also give brief thoughts on things I've watched here, of course.

I also write - mainly original fiction, but sometimes I'll post fanfic as well. In the past I've published through Amazon ebooks short pieces of erotica, which actually made money, so I guess that makes me a published author by the Stephen King rule ("If you wrote something for which someone sent you a check, if you cashed the check and it didn't bounce, and if you then paid the light bill with the money, I consider you talented.")

I play computer games - League of Legends (aka Abuse Simulator 2017), Secret World Legends, EVE Online, Dragon Age: Inquisition and others, all with varying degrees of skill and/or success.

I have a fascination for parapsychology and forteana - UFOs, ghosts, urban legends, cryptids and so on. I was a disturbingly precocious child who read her first book on UFOs at the age of six and continued on from there.

I am also a big fan of comic books/graphic novels. My favourites are X-Men, the Batfamily, Loki: Agent of Asgard and the original Secret Six. I also love to read in general, and have been known to sit and read encyclopedias from cover to cover just out of curiosity.

I knit, crochet and cross stitch, at least partially as an anti-stress/calming measure. I start a lot of things; finishing them is sometimes a little beyond me but I do try...

(I like lists.)

I have two cats - 14-year-old Lily, known as the Lilyflump, and 1-year-old Callie, known as the Calliemog. I talk a fair bit about them, as they're often the only thing that lies between me and utter insanity.

Finally, as I said above, I'm mentally ill. I suffer from severe depression, social and generalised anxiety disorders, moderate agoraphobia, OCD, PTSD and paranoia that's left me unable to work or leave the house very often without help for some time now. I've both attempted suicide and self-harmed in the past and have occasional suicidal ideations now, but I've not done anything to harm myself for over a year now. I am genderqueer - I identify mostly as female but I've had feelings of wanting to be male on and off since my teens. Nowadays I deal with it in writing and roleplay, and in growing a beard sometimes because of weight and medication. I'm also bisexual.

I'm also liberal to the point of socialism but I try not to talk too much about politics so as not to bore people, with the possible exception of disabled and carers' rights and issues (I was the full-time carer of my partner for several years before he died).
People [View Entries]
Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth: